February 27, 2021

Gauteng schools sports star honoured

Gauteng schools sports star honoured

Winners of the School Sport Awards were honoured during a glamorous ceremony held on Friday 04 March 2016 at the Birchwood Hotel and Conference Centre, Ekurhuleni.

The awards are held annually to recognize and reward excellence and achievements of athletes in primary and secondary school level as well as technical officials who play an imperative role in transforming school sport in the province.

Presenting the Special/Lifetime Achiever Award which went to an NGO Love Life which is historic partner to school sport dating back 15 years with core focus behaviour change programmes in school sports MEC for Gauteng Education Panyaza Lesufi said: “The partnership between the two departments has made it possible for school sport and sport development to thrive.

These awards are a living testimony of how far hard work and passion have taken us and are an indication that the future is bright for school sport in our province. Sports in Gauteng will never be same again continues MEC Lesufi.

The awards ceremony was hosted by the Gauteng Department of Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation in partnership with Nedbank and ABI who have been sponsors for two and three years respectively.

GSC president Barry Hendricks congratulated the achievers and said they were an indication the depth of talent as well as dedication of teachers that was available in Gauteng. “Well done to all those nominated and a special mention to the winners who have been selected from many, many hopeful across the province. We are very proud of all our achievers and believe they have a wonderful career ahead of them.”

The 2015 School Sport Awards winners are:

Category Name
Technical Official of the Year Mpho Makhobo (Tennis)
Coach of the Year    Tadhg Slattery (Swimming)
Administrator of the Year Vicky Magu (Chess)
Team of the Year Troyeville Volleyball Boys13
Primary School of the Year Hlangabeza Primary School
LSEN School of the Year Dominican School for the Deaf
Secondary School of the Year Hoërskool Waterkloof
Code of the Year Gauteng Schools Volleyball
Primary School Male Athlete of the Year                                 Andesa Nonkonyane (Volleyball)
Primary School Female Athlete of the Year                                      Dunè Coetzee (Swimming)


LSEN School Male Athlete of the Year  Ntando Mahlangu (Athletics)


LSEN School Female Athlete of the Year Nokwanda Hlongwane (Wheelchair Tennis)
Secondary School Male Athlete of the Year Siyabonga Mbatha (Football)


Secondary School Female Athlete of the Year Jade Neser (Swimming)

Related posts