February 27, 2021

Young superstars honoured at Gauteng Sports Awards

Young superstars honoured at Gauteng Sports Awards

Proteas fast bowler Kagiso Rabada and sprint sensation Alyssa Conley were the biggest winners at the 2016 Gauteng Sports Awards.

Rabada beat Olympians, Mamelodi Sundowns midfielder Keagan Dolly and Stephen Mokoka (athletics) to the province’s Sportsman of the Year accolade at a glittering ceremony on October 2. SA sprint women’s champion Alyssa Conley, who earned a silver medal in the 200 metres at the 2016 African Championships, was voted Sportswoman of the Year. She beat cricketer Sune Luus and triple jump star Patience Ntshingila to scoop the top prize.

Teenage Paralympic silver medallist Ntando Mahlangu was also one of the big winners following his heroics at the Rio Paralympics. Mahlangu, 14, won silver in the 200m at the Rio Paralympic Games last month rising from obscurity to stun the field of more experienced athletes.

Barry Hendricks, president of the Gauteng Sports Confederation, which facilitated the nomination and adjudication process which consisted of , said the calibre of finalists and winners were an indication of the standard of the competition.

Hendricks said: “The fact that our winners have achieved so much on the international stage is an indication of the world class level of performance in Gauteng. We believe that these athletes honoured by these awards will inspire young and old for years to come. We wish them all the best in their sporting career paths and long may their accomplishments continue.”

On the night more than 800 hundred guests walked the black carpet at the Silverstar Casino in Mogale City to celebrate and award the Province’s sporting stars during a night of glamour and elegance in an evening to celebrate the spirit of sport.

Breath-taking performances by Kelly Khumalo, Mahotella Queens, Skwatta Kamp and many more were part of the evening’s entertainment.

The Full List of Winners include:

  • Sportswoman of the Year: Alyssa Conley, athletics;
  • Sportsman of the Year: Kagiso Rabada, cricket;
  • Coach of the Year: Geoffrey Toyana, cricket;
  • Sportsman of the Year with Disability: Ntando Mahlangu, Rio Paralympic Gold Medallist;
  • Sportswoman of the Year with Disability: Zandile Nhlapo, athletics;
  • Sports Team of the Year with Disability: Central Gauteng blind cricket team;
  • Administrator of the Year: Karen Losch, wheelchair tennis;
  • Most Promising team of the Year: Pretoria Technical High School;
  • Sports Team of the Year: Golden Lions Currie Cup Team;
  • Most Promising Player: Siphamandla Hadebe, volleyball;
  • Technical Official of the Year: Mpho Makhoba, tennis;
  • School Sport Athlete of the Year: Nokwanda Hlongwane, wheelchair tennis.
  • Community Sport and Recreation Programme of the Year: Johannesburg Spikers Volleyball Academy for Volleyball
  • Community Media of the Year: Tshepo Thafeng for Soweto TV
  • Sports Journalist of the Year: Charles Baloyi for Daily Sun/Sunday Sun
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Mme Rosina Sedibane

The following categories are determined through public sms voting:

  • Sport Fan of the Year: William Mukwevho
  • Sport Programme of the Year: Sportsbuzz- SABC1
  • Sport Personality of the Year: Andrea Dalle Ave for Athletics

Prize money:

  • R5,000 per finalist,
  • R15,000 for the winner per category
  • R45,000 for the Sport Personality Award
  • R50,000 for the Life Time Achiever Award recipient

Related posts